blizzard.jpgWe’ve had such a dry dry winter here in Colorado Springs (not really a rare thing). At this point, if it were an “average” snow season, we would have had about 35 inches of snow. We’ve actually had about 15 inches. (The utility company happily points out that we won’t have worry about water restrictions though. The mountains and points west have had plenty of snow, and that’s where get our drinking and irrigation water.)

But early last week, the weather forecasters starting predicting a blizzard for later in the week. Each day the forecasts got stronger, and they pinpointed Thursday for the big event. Everyone started getting excited, and the coming blizzard was the talk of the town for days. Finally, Thursday morning arrived with blue skies and no snow. Blizzard? Ha! I noticed clouds coming in as I drove to meeting a friend for lunch at about 11:30. We placed our order and sat at our table, and looked out the window. Snowflakes. And they got heavier. The blizzard was arriving.

We truly did have blizzard conditions, which just means lots of wind with the snow, but not necessarily large accumulations. By Friday morning, the snow had mostly stopped. Areas in the northern and western parts of the state had received BIG snow, and even some places out east on the plains. But at my house, four inches. Four inches with a sheet of ice underneath that made the shoveling more difficult. The car was encased in ice with the doors frozen shut.
suefrozen.jpg
By Friday afternoon, it was in the 30’s and the sun was out. Much of that snow disappeared. By Saturday afternoon, you would not even have known we’d had a blizzard at all.

But…..

Overnight between Thursday and Friday, my thermometer showed we got down to 11.1 degrees. We got close to that overnight from Friday to Saturday as well. Pear trees that had started blooming had their flowers turn brown. Forsythia that was just getting going was stopped in its tracks. And then I thought about my crabapple tree (which you can see in the blizzard photo above). This morning I stepped out to look at the flower buds, and sure enough, many of them look like they were killed by the hard freeze. crabapplefrozen.jpgIn the photo you can see a mix of dark pink and black on them. It used to be we’d lose our crabapple bloom about once every three years. Recently we’ve been spoiled and have counted on a fabulous bloom every year, meaning lots of crabapples for the squirrels to eat so they’d leave my tomatoes alone. It looks like I’ll have to defend my tomatoes this year. I can’t even bear to think about the daffodils that are just in bud right now. I didn’t lose that bloom too, did I?!! If they just had leaves up during those cold temps, they should be fine, but I’m not sure when those buds popped up. Cross your fingers for me!

