tradescantia_white.jpgThe moisture has kept up at least a bit and things are pretty lush in the park just now. Currently, everything I posted for last week still applies (see https://careymoonbeam.wordpress.com/2010/07/27/blooming-in-monument-valley-park-july-26/).

So I’ll just post a few new things for this week.

Map – Here is the helpful map of the north part of the park. I use the areas I’ve labeled on the map to organize my posts.

New bloomers this week….

Turn-Around Patch

I was thrilled when I discovered the following two newbies this week!

Scarlet gaura (Gaura coccinea) – This little plant has such pretty little flowers. They turn from white to pink as they age. I had seen a bit of it earlier in the season, but it finished quickly. It seems the moisture has encourage some more of it to bloom. This little one is hard to find, with a few hidden behind one of the new evergreen trees. (Native)

Velvet gaura (Gaura parviflora or G. mollis) – This is a big gaura with tiny flowers. What I love best about it are the velvety soft leaves. I saw one plant on the western branch of the turn-around split. (Native)

Common burdock (Arctium minus) – This is a large-leaved plant (people often wonder if it is skunk cabbage). It is now blooming, and the flowers are fascinating with their bulbous bristly bases. This is on the Colorado Noxious Weed List B. (Alien)

Common or western ragweed (Ambrosia psilostachya) – This little plant is the cause of many people’s allergies at this time of year. The flowers are tiny and green-yellow and the pollen is super tiny and carried in the wind. Since the flowers are so insignificant, it is the leaves that help me identify this. There is a good patch of this growing right along the southern edge of the turn-around patch. (Alien)

gaura_coccinea.jpg

Gaura coccinea



gaura_mollis.jpg

Gaura mollis



arctium_flowers.jpg

Arctium minus



ambrosia_psilostachya.jpg

Ambrosia psilostachya

West of the Playing Field, near North Tip of Triangle

Scarlet gaura (Gaura coccinea) – A bit more of this cute little plant is blooming in a patch across the path west of the playing field. (Native)

A white spiderwort! (Tradescantia occidentalis) – There is quite a bit of spiderwort blooming all over the north part of the park now. But this is the only white bloom I’ve ever seen in the park! (Native)

tradescantia_white.jpg

Tradescantia occidentalis

Under the Bridge to the Creek

There has been some work going on on the creek the past few weeks, so the trail has been closed along the creek. But on my last visit, the work seemed to be on hiatus, so I braved the muddy path under the creek to see what was going on there this year. I was hoping to see some white gilia again, but did not see any (at none in bloom). But I did see the following:

Prairie coneflower (Ratibida columnifera) – This terrific yellow flower is blooming profusely in great numbers in this area. I am pretty sure it must have been seeded in after a past construction project. (Native)

Blue flax (Linum perenne) – I am guessing this is L. perenne and not L. lewisii, but it is tricky to tell the two apart. This was also probably seeded after construction.

White sweet clover (Melilotus albus) – This is showing up in many places in the north part of the park, but there is a bumper crop of it on the slope along the creek. (Alien)


ratibida_columnifera.jpg

Ratibida columnifera



linum_lewisii.jpg

Linum spp.

