galanthus.jpgWhoo hoo! As I did a bit of clean up in my tree lawn (what I call the strip between my sidewalk and the street), I caught a teeny bit of white in the corner of my eye. Snowdrops! I thought they were gone! A gift from a fellow plant enthusiast years ago, my snowdrops have had a spotty history. They were gifted in the spring, a bad time to plant bulbs, but I quickly popped them in the ground anyway. Since then, I’ve seen them bloom a few times. I didn’t notice them blooming at all last year, and possibly not even the year before that. I’d given up on them. And yet, here they were this year, their white blooms dangling shyly from the top of their stems. And this has been one of the driest winters in recent memory with minimal winter watering by me.

Because they are so tiny, snowdrops (Galanthus nivalis) are often planted in large groups. My little grouping is pretty easy to overlook (and I wonder if I just missed them these past two springs…and if so, I feel terribly guilty about that!). Supposedly they will bloom early enough to poke up through the snow, hence the common name. Snow is so scarce here most years that I’ve yet to see my snowdrops actually in snow (hmm…the same goes for my snow crocus as well).

Now I’m thinking that I should plant more of them (I’ve had this thought before…I’ll probably go through the same thing with crocuses as soon as I see any of them in my garden). They are a fairly small bulb, so planting them shouldn’t be as work intensive as some of the larger ones. However, that also means they may be easier for the squirrels to dig up…always a consideration in my garden.

As I’ve mentioned before, I love surprises in my garden. I’m tickled that my first surprise this year turned out to be the very first things to bloom in the garden.

