OK! We’re off an running with the bloom season in the park.

MAP – Here is the helpful map of the north part of the park. I use the areas I’ve labeled on the map to organize my posts.

Apr 7, 2011 – The first blooms I’ve seen were/are on a small prunus tree just north of the Boddington playing field. I suspect this is some type of cherry and will have to wait until there are more leaves and maybe even fruit to identify this one more specifically.prunus1.jpg prunus2.jpg

Apr 14, 2011 – A few more prunus just like the one described above have turned up. One specifically is at the very north end of the park, just to the west of the middle path.

A small American plum is also blooming in this area. If you take the turn to the east at the end of the middle path, you’ll see this poor little tree with its white blooms. I used to think this was an apple tree that seemed to have either been planted on purpose or by a dropped seed, but I’ve only seen the fruit on this tree in past years. Now that I have gotten to see it in bloom, it certainly seems to be a plum. I’ll have to take a closer look at that fruit this year!
malus1.jpg malus2.jpg

Apr 17, 2011 – Now the golden currants are getting into the act! You can find one blooming at the north end of the middle path, just west of the path (next to one of the prunus mentioned above). This plant is further along in its bloom than the other one I found west of the east path, north of the playing field.
ribes_aureum1.jpg ribes_aureum2.jpg

