This is the final post on our fun opportunity to test drive a CSA (Javernick Farms of Canon City, Colorado). For background info on how we came to have this opportunity, feel free to read Part 1. And then if you’re all caught up in the drama, you can go on to read Part 2.

Week 3 (produce picked up on Sep 21)

When I went to the pickup the third time, I finally got to meet the woman who lived at the house where the pickups happen. She was kindly giving suggestions to another CSAer on how to use her eggplant in a way that it wouldn’t obviously be eggplant(!). They settled on baba ghanoush. I’ll have to try making that sometime.

What We Got

For the final batch, we got another dozen or so roma tomatoes, another yellow spicy banana-type pepper, 2 bell peppers, 1 white onion, 1 eggplant, 1 delicata squash (this must’ve been a great year for delicata squash!), 1 serrano pepper, and a bunch of rainbow swiss chard. (Oh….swiss chard. Another vegetable nemesis from my childhood.) From the previous two weeks we still had a summer squash, potatoes, a cucumber, and two delicata squash.

What We Made

Roasted Tomatoes – I’d already made salsa with the previous tomatoes and added some to our ill-fated okra gumbo. So I decided to try roasting the ones from this week as they were very ripe and needed to be used right away. After perusing a few recipes, I settled on cutting the tomatoes in half, brushing them with olive oil, placing them on a foil covered baking sheet, and roasting them for about an hour in the oven. I suppose if I’d roasted longer, I would have eventually ended up with dried tomatoes. These still had a bit of juice to them when they were done. They were quite delicious! Roasting really concentrates the tomato flavor. We’ve enjoyed them alongside salads and as a side dish. I froze the few that remained to enjoy later when we’ll really appreciate having local tomatoes.
roastedtomatoes1.jpg

roastedtomatoes2.jpg

Before roasting

roastedtomatoes3.jpg

After!

Rosti – We took a European vacation that included stops in Switzerland about ten years ago. We had a marvelous rosti near Interlacken one evening after a day of hiking. Ever since, we’ve sometimes craved rosti but have never made it. Rostis can be very simple – a basic grated potato cake – or extravagant – a grated potato cake with lots of cheese, ham, mushrooms, onion, etc mixed in. YUM. We took the middle road with a potato and onion rosti, topping it with a bit of cheddar and smoked salmon we just happened to have on hand. This recipe used two of the three pounds of potatoes we’d had since week one and some of the white onion from the current week. I went with a recipe from Mark Bittman’s “How to Cook Everything” app. Now…this recipe involves flipping a giant grated potato pancake, and I felt a bit doomed from the beginning. I could just imagine what was going to happen when it came time to flip it. So I made sure to take a picture before flipping, just in case! (It was going to be much messier after that.) But I followed the instruction to slide it out onto a plate, put another plate on top and flip, and then slide it back into the skillet, AND IT WORKED! (You can tell I still don’t believe it.) And it was delicious.
rosti1.jpg rosti2.jpg

rosti3.jpg

Before flipping

rosti4.jpg

Almost there...

rosti5.jpg

Ta da!

Eggplant Parmesan – We made another round of broiled eggplant parmesan (like I did in week one). It was just as good. I’ll just have to wait until another day to make baba ghanoush (after learning how to spell that, I had to use it at least twice in my post).

Grated Sauteed Summer Squash – the same basic recipe as in week one with the zucchini.

Giveaways

I wimped out on the swiss chard and gave it away to fellow gardeners the day after the pickup. And then our kind friends who gave us the gift of a month of the CSA returned from their vacation, and I thought it only fair to deliver the remaining produce to them. So they ended up with two delicata squash (I kept one to try), a pound of potatoes, several different peppers, a few tomatoes, and an onion.

