mysterysquash.jpgEvery once in awhile, instead of digging up something in my garden, the squirrels actually plant something! One year it was a pumpkin, which yielded a nice, big pumpkin that was orange in time for Halloween (thanks, squirrels!). Another year, it was a squash I didn’t recognize and had to bring to others to ID. Turns out it was a spaghetti squash. Not a big fan of spaghetti squash (uh, thanks squirrels), I gave it to another appreciative gardener/cook. Since I don’t ever plant spaghetti squash, I can only guess the squirrels raided someone else’s compost pile or garden.

So here is this year’s challenge. This is one cool looking squash. I noticed some gourds that looked similar at the farmers’ market, but I really don’t think this is a gourd. It feels more summer-squashy (eww) to me.

So, any thoughts on what the squirrels planted for me this year?

