housefinch.jpgThis year, if not for a cold that kept me in the house, I might have heard my earliest house finch full mating song ever! (My fellow birding friend Sandra heard one two days earlier. I was so jealous.) As soon as I was well enough, I got out for a good long walk, keeping my ears open. I was a little disappointed when I was almost back home because I hadn’t heard any house finches at all. And then, I rounded the corner near my house, and I heard one. There, sitting in the crabapple tree in my front yard, was a lovely male house finch, singing his little heart out!

And this year, the winning date is exactly the same as last year (!)

Jan 3!

As with last year, we’ve had pretty warm weather for this time of winter, and I wonder if that is what spurs these guys to start wooing the girls so early.

Here are my results from the past few years:

2011: Jan 3

2010: Jan 19

2009: Jan 12

2008: Jan 8

2007: Jan 15

2006: Jan 15

2005: Jan 23

