crocus_dbg.jpgThis week, I finally saw the first little crocuses in bloom in our area. The “first bloom” site has moved back and forth between two locations recently (ruining any scientific merit for using my observations for anything beyond fun). For many years, it was always a few blocks near my house in what we’ll call Location #1. Then a few years ago, my husband discovered Location #2, several blocks further away. This year, the first crocuses bloomed in Location #2 (but I did see one blooming at Location #1 just two days later).

I visited Denver Botanic Gardens earlier this week and saw LOTS of crocuses, snow drops, and miniature irises already blooming there. Denver often is about a week ahead of us for blooms throughout the entire growing season. (The photo I used this year is actually from DBG – note the bonus bee!)

So this year, it’s…..Feb 25! Consistently cold temperatures this winter probably encouraged a more traditional bloom time this year. The recent decent snows followed by some warmer temps these past week or so finally nudged them along. Whoo hoo!!!

For comparison, once again I’m including the dates for the first bloom from past years:

2013: Feb 17 (Location #2)

2012: Feb 22 (Location #1)

2011: Jan 31 (Location #2)

2010: March 2 (Location #1)

2009: Jan 24 (Location #1)

2008: Feb 27 (Location #1)

2007: Feb 18 (Location #1)

2006: Feb 8 (Location #1)

2005: Jan 26 (Location #1)

And as always, I like to remind you that if you haven’t seen any crocuses in your own garden yet, don’t feel bad. My own garden probably won’t see the first one blooming for at least another month. (But I am keeping my eyes peeled for snow drops!)

